//
you're reading...
chickpea four, chickpeas, Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Grain-free, main dishes, snacks, Vegetarian

Classic Falafel Balls, Grain-Free

One of the main ideas I keep with when I cook is that I like to keep things as easy and hassle free as possible.

There are exceptions, but let’s not talk about them today.

A super-easy, tasty and nutritious evening meal I like is the classic falafel ball. ๐Ÿ™‚ I got absolutely addicted to them this summer and eat them quite often.

There are many recipes floating out there and even if I usually just eyeball the stuff in them… for today’s meal I did actually measure everything. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here we go!

Grain-Free Falafel Balls for Two

The Ingredients

A small can of chickpeas
An onion
3-4 cloves of garlic
1/2 ts of chilli flakes
1 ts of cumin
1 ts of coriander
1 ts of paprika
A splash of lemon juice
A bit of salt
3-4 tbs of chickpea flour

The How-To

Note: I operate in a small kitchen and whenever I need to puree things, I just use a trusty handheld blender, but I suppose you could also throw all of the ingredients into a food processor to make your life even easier.

1. Take your chickpeas and crush them into a paste. Set the oven to pre-heat at 220 C (420 F).

2. Chop the onion and garlic cloves and add them to the chickpeas. Blend until relatively smooth.

3. Add the spices! You can change the amounts a little depending on how spicy you like things. (Note: A lot of people also like to add parsley, but I just plain don’t likeย parsleyย so it’s not in my falafel balls. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

4. Mix it!

5. Then add a splash of lemon juice. How much depends on how you like your spicy and sour balance. Mix.

6. Add the chickpea flour. Again, the amount really depends on the lemon juice you added. You want an thicker consistency to the batter so it’d be easy to form the balls we’re going to bake. I usually find 3-4 tbs to be enough. ๐Ÿ™‚

7. Use a heaped teaspoon for measurement to form small balls from the batter. Place them on a baking-sheet covered oven plate.

8. Bake for about 25-30 minutes. Voila!

Note: This usually makes around 16-18 small balls. Serve them with various fresh veggie salads or snack on them on their own.

 

Some people like to fry or deep fry theirs, which also works, but in that case I recommend patties instead of balls for the shape. I, personally, prefer them oven-baked. It’s healthier, just as tasty, and a lot less hassle for me when I don’t have to stand next to the stove. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Good cooking!

MLV.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on Bloglovin

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 714 hits
