//
you're reading...
Dairy-free, eggplants and zucchinis, Gluten-free, Grain-free, main dishes, peas, potatoes, salads, tomatoes, various vegetables, Vegetarian

Warm Potato Salad

So. Here’s the thing — I don’t care much for potatoes. I think it has something to do with having to eat them pretty much seven days a week when I was growing up, because in our household we just loved potatoes. If the evening meal didn’t have them, lunch did.

However, I hit up a farmers’ market this weekend and amongst all the beautiful colourful autumn vegetables there they were.

Potatoes. Tiny baby potatoes. (To be honest, I’ve already missed the season for the really small ones, but these were still smaller than regular.)

How could I resist them? 😉

And here’s what I used a batch of what I bought for:

Warm Potato Salad for Two

The Ingredients

Oven-baked Potatoes:

12 small baby potatoes
2 tbs of olive oil
1 ts of salt
1/2 ts of ground black pepper
2 ts of paprika

Sauteed Vegetables:

3 cups of a chopped vegetable mix (carrots, green peas, zucchini, tomatoes, onion)
1 tbs of olive oil
Salt to taste
1 medium red bell pepper, sliced
Green onion for garnish

The How-To

Note: I was lazy and used a frozen veggie mix that I stockpile in my freezer.

1. Start with the oven baked potatoes. Brush and scrub the baby potatoes clean leaving the peel on. (Note: lots of nutritious stuff right under it, so I try to use potatoes with the peel whenever I can.) Quarter the potatoes. Set the oven to pre-heat at 220 C (420 F).

2. Take a plastic bag and place the potato quarters in it together with the olive oil, paprika, salt and pepper. Shake until everything is spread evenly.

3. Place on a baking tray and leave to bake in the oven for about 30 minutes or until soft. Optional: if your oven has it, use the grill function for a couple of minutes after the potatoes are soft to get a crispy exterior.

4. While the potatoes are baking you can leave them alone for a while… but time yourself so you could sautee the chopped vegetable mix in olive oil for about 7-8 minutes or until soft. Don’t forget to salt them to taste after they’ve cooked for a bit. 

5. As I usually prefer to have something fresh and crispy in my meals as well, this is where the bell pepper comes in. If you haven’t yet, slice it.

6. The potatoes are baked, the vegetables sauteed, the bell pepper sliced… mix everything together and serve with a topping of  finely cut green spring onions.

This is colorful and thanks to the potatoes… very filling.

Note: You get two big bowlfuls of a rather filling meal. The vegetable mix I’ll leave up to preference and I like to change things up, but I like to include carrots and zucchini and green peas at least.  

Good cooking!

MLV.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on Bloglovin

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 714 hits
