//
you're reading...
chickpeas, Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Grain-free, nuts and seeds, snacks, various vegetables, Vegetarian

Hummus

What’s your favourite evening snack? I’ve had a busy week, so it’s always nice to have some fresh hummus in the fridge. And trust me, it keeps fresh as I just go through a batch that quickly. 😉

I absolutely owe my addiction to hummus to my sister who first made me some of the homemade kind. I’d tried store-bought before and really disliked it, so I was almost tricked into giving it a second chance.

To my utter joy, I discovered that as long as I could make (and season) it myself, I absolutely wanted hummus to be a staple of my diet.

Hummus

The Ingredients

A small can of chickpeas
A clove of garlic
1/2 ts of cumin
1/2 ts of coriander
1/2 ts of paprika
2 tbs of lemon juice
1 tbs of tahini paste
1 tbs of olive oil
2-3 tbs of water

The How-To

1. Take your chickpeas and crush them into a paste. 

2. Chop the onion and garlic cloves and add them to the chickpeas. Blend until relatively smooth.

3. Add the spices, tahini, olive oil and lemon juice. Add water to get the consistency you like. 🙂 

4. Voila! Serve as a sauce, spread, side dish or veggie dip.

I also like variants of it, but right now, I was craving some simple basic hummus with my carrots.

Good cooking!

MLV.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on Bloglovin

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 714 hits
