//
you're reading...
almond flour, cakes and cookies, Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Grain-free, nuts and seeds, various vegetables, Vegetarian

Surprise Carrot Cake

This is a surprise, because this isn’t an example of my baking efforts.

I had a birthday. And I wasn’t really planning on cake as I’m not a huge cake lover myself. I mean, I love baking, but I don’t love (nor does my waistline) having cake in the fridge too often. 😉 So, I wasn’t really planning on any birthday cake.

Only my little sister surprised me! That’s why having lovely sisters and a family with a strong cooking gene is so awesome.

Everybody in my family cooks, and cooks well. But mostly me and my mother are the main bakers so this was why the sisterly surprise was so unexpected. Utterly awesome too!

This was my sister’s first time baking gluten-free and she used a recipe in Estonian that she found here on this blog.

I’ll translate the recipe here with my assurances that this citrusy carrot cake is among the most delicious cakes I’ve eaten (wheat-based or gluten-free).

Orange-Carrot Cake

The Ingredients

5 eggs
2 large oranges
250g of sugar
250g of grated carrots
250g of almonds
2 ts of baking powder
65g of potato starch 

The Glaze

300g of powdered sugar
2 lemons

The How-To

1. Start by grinding the almonds into a rough flour in a coffee grinder or food processor. Or, just use almond flour if you have it. 

2. Separate the egg yolks from the whites. Set the oven to preheat at 180 C.

3. Squeeze the oranges for juice, grate the orange peels.

4. In a large bowl, mix together the egg yolks, orange juice and peel, sugar, carrots, almond flour and baking powder. Use a flour sifter to add the potato starch. Mix.

5. In a separate bowl beat the egg whites until you have a hard, solid foamy mass. Mix very gently into the rest of the dough.

6. Pour the dough into a 24cm cake bin.

7. Bake for 55-60 minutes.

8. Let cool in the cake bin, then take out and glaze with the mixture of sugar and freshly squeezed lemon juice.

It only gets better after some time in the fridge! This is when I first “met” this cake. 😉

This was very moist, fluffy and all around delicious! 🙂 I devoured the entire thing far too quickly and I’m reaffirmed in my belief that it’s not a good idea to have cake in the fridge as it’s bound to disappear far too quickly. 😉

Good cooking!

MLV.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Surprise Carrot Cake

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

    Posted by Alex | September 16, 2012, 16:49

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Watermelon. Again | My Little Vanities - September 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on Bloglovin

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 714 hits
